Day 1

(Readers be warned, I’m 92.4% disoriented and delirious, so grammar and English is out the window, sorry didn’t feel like proofreading)

I can’t believe I’m finally in Ghana! Today was definitely an adventure and I know there will be plenty more to come.

It all started yesterday night with a delayed flight out of JFK which a very short layover in Heathrow this morning. After two shuttles, running through hallways, losing my toiletries in security, and more running accompanied by a mild panic attack, I just made my flight to Accra as the doors were closing. Then after all my rushing, we were delayed three hours on the ground in London. Once we finally took off, the flight to Ghana was easy with some really cool views. Seeing the expansive Sahara Desert from the air was unexpectedly breathtaking. (Here’s a mediocre window pic)

Before I knew it, we were flying over the city of Accra and getting ready to land.

When the nighttime humidity hit me and I took my last step off the plane, it finally hit me, the day I’ve been prepping and fundraising for for months, was finally here, I was in Ghana.

I met a few other Saha people from my flight and we made our way through customs. (Side story: a guy Tim lost his yellow fever card needed to enter the country, so he gave the officer a little offering and the whole situation was brushed under the rug). Right when we walked out of the airport, Saha Global was waiting for us and we hopped into taxis with broken odometers and off we went to the Pink Hostel in Asylum Down. (Here’s a pic of the room feat. Kristen, the beds are pretty tight)

After a quick dinner of rice and very spicy pepper sauce (not pesto sauce despite its appearance), we connected to wifi (the password is frontdesk, not go ask the front desk which was the first interpretation when we asked for the password) and now I’m writing up my first blog on the ground. It’s midnight now here and we’ll be off  to Tamale at 4am! Signing off because I should probably be sleeping!

(Here’s a pic of my current view)


3 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Oh Lexie!! I am so proud of you and look forward to reading about your adventures. Stay safe. Love, Aunt Marivie

    Like

Leave a comment